pierreprospero-horse-moutain-spritz-summ

Transhumance

A  Mythical ride from the sea to the mountains; from wintering to summer pastures ... 

Transhumance
4 days / 3 nights: 650 €

22 - 25 June

September 21 - 24

 

This ride takes place in the spring and fall. She announces the change of season. It is a unique meeting and an extraordinary experience since all the horses, like a caravan, set off. A trip where the Côte d'Azur and the Alps come together in a magical harmony, a magical beauty, a charm full of history. 

In spring, the wild, intact flora and fauna are reborn along the ancient Roman paths to the snow-covered peaks. Everything is immaculate in light and the blue of the sky merges with that of the sea. Transhumance on horseback allows you to experience the change of seasons, that of the summer pastures and to perpetuate the pastoral tradition of the mountains. 

It is a special moment, out of time, which marks the period of high mountain treks for horses. From Sainte Agnès, the herd heads towards the path of the ridges, already the flora of the maquis gives way  to hardwoods. In the evening, we stop at Sospel. The next day,  a large drop offers us a magnificent spectacle between sea and mountains. A breathtaking landscape. Stopover at Camp d'Argent. Then, the horses set off on the third day in the Mercantour National Park where barracks of the Army of the Alps from World War II bear witness to this strategic passage. The mountains fall steeply and the ravines deep. Soon the red lands of the Gordolasque valley to sleep at the Refuge des Merveilles. The third day Le Boréon is not very far, the lakes of Prals, the plateau of Maïris constitute a real enchantment through the mountain pastures. The transhumance is coming to an end, three summer months in the mountains before returning to spend the winter by the sea.

Itinerary given as an example, the final itinerary will be communicated to you before departure.  

D1 / 7h30 of horseback 

Meeting at 9 a.m. in Sainte-Agnès

  • GAIT / MOVEMENT: Not on mountain trails, more lively on the slopes

  • Picnic prepared by us

  • Overnight at La Chapelle Saint Gervais in Sospel

  • Massage on request at an additional cost  

D2 / 8h00 riding

  • Paces: A day of climbing!

  • Picnic prepared by us

  • Overnight: 1/2 board at festive at Camp d'Argent

D3 / 6h30 of Horse 

  • Morning in the rather steep mountain paths, afternoon which can lend to the paces

  • Picnic prepared by us

  • Night at the Gordolasque at the Hotel du Grand Capelet

D4 / 7h30 of Horse 

  • Day in M: Two steep ascents on horseback, two steep descents on foot

  • Picnic prepared by us

  • Arrival at the equestrian center at around 6 p.m. then transfer to Nice or Sainte-Agnès

Everything is included in the price ( accommodation, transfers mentioned in the description, picnic), only drinks in the evening at the stages will have to be paid in addition .  

Additional night  possible on the last evening (50 to 80 € / person in 1/2 pension depending on the accommodation)

Additional transfer on the way  from Nice : 180 € for 2 people / 300 € up to 8 people

pierreprospero-horse-moutain-spritz-summ

Transhumance

Une  Randonnée mythique de la mer à la montagne; de l'hivernage aux estives... 

Transhumance
4 jours/
3 nuits: 650 €

 

3 et 4 juillet

& sur demande

 

Cette randonnée a lieu au printemps et à l’automne. Elle annonce le changement de saison. C’est un rendez-vous unique et une expérience hors du commun puisque tous les chevaux, telle une caravane, se mettent en marche. Un voyage où la Côte d’Azur et les Alpes se rejoignent dans une harmonie magique, une beauté féerique, un charme plein d’histoire. 

Au printemps, la faune et la flore, sauvages, intactes renaissent le long des anciens sentiers romains jusqu’aux sommets couverts de neige. Tout est immaculé de lumière et le bleu du ciel se confond avec celui de la mer. La transhumance à cheval permet de vivre le changement des saisons, celui des estives et de perpétuer la tradition pastorale des montagnes. 

C’est un moment particulier, hors du temps qui marque pour les chevaux la période des randonnées de haute montagne. De Sainte Agnès, le troupeau se dirige vers le chemin des crêtes, déjà la flore du maquis laisse place aux feuillus. Le soir, nous faisons étape à Sospel. Le lendemain,  un grand dénivelé nous offre un spectacle magnifique entre mer et montagnes. Un paysage à couper le souffle. Etape à Camp d'Argent. Puis, les chevaux s’engagent le troisième jour dans le Parc National du Mercantour où des casernes de l’armée des Alpes de la Seconde Guerre Mondiale témoignent de ce passage stratégique. Les montagnes tombent à pics et les ravins profonds. Bientôt les terres rouges de la vallée de la Gordolasque pour dormir au refuge des Merveilles. Le troisième jour Le Boréon n’est plus très loin, les lacs de Prals, le plateau de la Maïris constitue un véritable enchantement à travers les alpages. La transhumance touche à sa fin, trois mois d’été en montagne avant le retour pour passer l’hiver au bord de la mer.

Itinéraire donné à titre d'exemple, l'itinéraire définitif vous sera communiqué avant le départ. 

J1 / 7h30 de cheval 

RDV à 9h à Sainte-Agnès

  • Allures : Pas sur les sentiers de montagnes, allures plus vives sur les piste

  • Pique-nique préparé par nos soins

  • Nuitée à La Chapelle Saint Gervais à Sospel

  • Massage sur demande en supplément 

J2 / 8h00 de cheval

  • Allures : Une journée de grimpette !

  • Pique-nique préparé par nos soins

  • Nuitée : 1/2 pension à festive à Camp d'Argent

J3 / 6h30 de Cheval 

  • Matinée dans les chemins de montagnes assez escarpés, aprs-midi qui peut prêter aux allures

  • Pique-nique préparé par nos soins

  • Nuitée à la Gordolasque à l'Hôtel du Grand Capelet

J4 / 7h30 de Cheval 

  • Journée en M : Deux montées raides à cheval, deux descentes raides à pieds

  • Pique-nique préparé par nos soins

  • Arrivée au centre équestre à 18h environ puis transfert vers Nice ou Sainte-Agnès

Tout est compris dans le prix (hébergements, transferts mentionnés dans le descriptif, pique-nique), seules les boissons le soir aux étapes seront à payer en supplément. 

Nuitée supplémentaire possible le dernier soir (50 à 80€/pers en 1/2pension en fonction de l'hébergement)

Transfert supplémentaire à l'aller depuis Nice : 180€ pour 2 personnes / 300€ jusqu'à 8 personnes