The Transalpine

4 days to understand how sea and mountain interact. A ride that borders the Mercantour national Park, crosses the border between medium and high mountains, between France and Italy.

The Transalpine

4 Days- 640€

19/5/20 - 24/5/20

22/10/20 - 24/10/20

D1 / 6h riding

The first day connects Sainte-Agnès to Peira-cava. From the sea to the mountains, from the scrubland to the fir trees. In the morning, we ride along the Ségra plateau, an unexpectedly fertile plateau where we can galop. The bay of Nice is revealed in the distance, while the mountains, sometimes snowy, show up when we turn our heads. After a lunch break at the Col de Braus, off-piste skiing takes us through the first mountains. The tree species are already starting to change and announce the huge beech forest that we cross during the last part of the day. Sinuous paths and tracks follow one another, the paces vary!

We spend the first night with dear friends, in chalets in Peira Cava, one of our best tables!

  • Gaits : Galop and trot on dirt roads, walking in the scrubland. 

  • Homemade picnic

  • Night and dinner at Karine's  

D2 / 7h riding

We explore the backcountry and its mountains, which at the time of this rides are not accessible to us because of the snow. We cross the village of Moulinet, with its generous countryside and marked trails. In spring, the scents of broom and thyme make it an olfactory experience. We then take almost forgotten paths and abandoned military roads before descending to the village of Sospel. A generous countryside south of the Alps. We stop at La Chapelle Saint Gervais, at Pascale's house. The stage is a dream, a 16th century drop renovated with taste. 

D3 / 8h riding

Today, we are going to Italy! A trek in the forest, on winding paths, where we pass from pass to narrow river, leads us to the Brouis pass. In the afternoon, with super breath, we take a path overlooking the Roya valley, from Breil to Péone. It is vertiginous. Sometimes, an encounter of a different kind with an almost wild herd of sheep accentuates the sensations.  A gentle descent through the olive trees leads us to our last stop: the border village of Olivetta.

 

  • Gaits : Galop and trot on dirt roads, walking in the scrubland.

  • Homemade picnic

  • Night : 1/2 Boars in appartement in the village, at Remo's

D4 / 7h riding

We cross the village at sunrise to take the stone bridge belonging to the old mill and to climb in the direction of the Pas dell Treitore… Almost 1000m of height difference, where we have the impression to go back in time. There are marks of the former cultures : walls made of dry stones, arbergh, drinking trough… We stop to lunch in a clearing, in a mountain refugee, an oasis of calm. During the afternoon, we come back in France, by a cow path again ! We come back peacefully in Sainte Agnès by the Castillon saddle, last tracks offer an amazing view of the sea, just to greet the scenery that have carried us away.

  • Homemade picnic

La Transalpine

4 jours pour comprendre comment mer et montagne dialoguent. Une randonnée qui flirte avec le parc du Mercantour, parcoure la frontière entre moyenne et haute montagne, entre la France et l'Italie

La Transalpine

4 Jours- 640€

19/5/20 - 24/5/20

22/10/20 - 24/10/20

J1 / 6h de cheval 

Départ à 9h du Village 

La première journée relie Sainte-Agnès à Peira-cava. De la mer à la montagne, de la garrigue aux sapins. Le matin, nous arpentons le plateau de Ségra, un plateau fertile inattendu qui prête aux allures. La baie de Nice se dévoile au loin, tandis que les montagnes, parfois enneigées se montrent quand on tourne la tête. Après un pause déjeuner au col de Braus, des hors-pistes nous font traverser les premières montagnes. Les essences commencent déjà à changer et annoncent l'immense forêt de hêtres que nous traversons lors de la dernière partie de la journée. Chemins sinueux et pistes s'enchainent, les allures varient !

Nous passons la première nuit chez de chers amis, dans des chalets à Peira Cava, une de nos meilleurs tables !

  • Allures : Galop et trot sur les pistes, pas dans le maquis. 

  • Pique-nique préparé par nos soins

  • Nuitée chez Karine Lebrun, diner préparée par ses soins.  

J2 / 7h de cheval

Nous flirtons avec l'arrière-pays et ses montagnes qui ne nous sont, à l'époque de cette randonnée, pas accessibles du fait de la neige. Nous traversons le village de Moulinet, avec ses campagnes généreuses, et des sentiers balisés. Au printemps, les odeurs de genêts et de thym en font une experience olfactive. Nous empruntons ensuite des chemins presqu'oubliés et des routes militaires abandonnées avant de descendre au village de Sospel. La campagne généreuse du sud des Alpes. Nous faisons étapes à La Chapelle Saint Gervais, chez Pascale. L'étape est un rêve, une baisse du XVI siècle rénovée avec subtilité. 

  • Allures : Journée aux allures variées, un peu de dénivelé l’après-midi, trot et galop sur les replats.

  • Pique-nique préparé par nos soins

  • Nuitée : 1/2 pension à La Chapelle Saint Gervais 

J3 / 8h de cheval

Aujourd'hui, nous allons en Italie ! une montée en forêt, sur des chemins sinueux, ou l'on passe de cols en rivière étroites, nous mène au col de Brouis. L'après-midi, à super le souffle, nous empruntons un chemin qui surplombe la vallée de la Roya, de Breil à Péone. C'est vertigineux. Parfois, une rencontre d'un autre type avec un troupeau presque sauvage d'ovin accentue les sensations.  Une douce descente au milieu des oliviers nous mène à notre dernière étape : le village frontalier d'Olivetta. 

  • Allures : Journée principalement au pas.

  • Pique-nique préparé par nos soins

  • Nuitée : 1/2 pension en appartement au village, parfois en villa chez Remo

J4 / 7h de Cheval

Nous traversons le village au petit matin pour prendre le pont en pierre de l’ancien moulin et monter vers le Pas dell treitore… Près de 1000m de dénivelé, où on a l’impression de remonter le temps. Des traces de l’intensité des cultures jadis sont marquantes : murs en pierres sèches, arbergh, abreuvoirs…. Nous nous arrêtons pour déjeuner dans une clairière, dans un refuge de montagne, un havre de paix. L’après-midi, nous rentrons en France, encore une fois par un chemin de vache ! Nous rentrons tranquillement à Sainte Agnès par le col de Castillon, les dernières pistes offrent au regard une vue sans pareil sur la mer, histoire de saluer le paysage qui nous a transporté. 

  • Pique-nique préparé par nos soins